The amazing power of baking soda and essential oils

63191_431419710267367_1823891424_n

Hello, my name is Schanna and I’m a recovering product junkie. There was a time, not so long ago that I was very drawn in by all the bright shiny colors and would take no notice of a label. (The bright shiny colors still get me sometimes but I’m an avid label reader!)

These days I grab my go to bottle that has hydrogen peroxide, castile soap, tea tree oil, peppermint oil and water and I go to town on pretty much every surface in my house. This concoction cleans my floors, counters, dishes, bathroom, carpet, walls, and in a pinch I’m not above misting the kids with it prior to washing them or putting a bit in the washer. (Update: I usually just eye ball it but I’d say, 1-2 teaspoons castile soap, 3/4- 1 cup peroxide, 10ish drops peppermint and 20ish drops tea tree. I fill the rest with water. Every now and then I’ll add a dash of white vinegar.)

Another of my favorite go to combinations is baking soda and essential oil. I’m slowly (very slowly) building up my essential oil collection and I definitely need to get to work on finding a bulk aluminum free baking soda but all in all these two ingredients work amazingly well for so many things. Take a gander at some of their uses. (Update: Just kidding on the aluminum free baking soda! I’ve been told it’s all aluminum free. Thanks guys!)

Basically, I put baking soda in a bowl and then put 10 + drops of essential oil (my favorites are tea tree and peppermint) into the mix. I blend it until it is fairly lump free and fill an old seasoning container with it. I then use this mixture for:

Hand Sanitizer- I carry a shaker in my purse and when my kiddos decide to touch something that makes my eye twitch but there is no water to be found, I shake some out into their hands and rub.

Hand Soap- Same idea as the hand sanitizer but you use water and your hands feel lovely afterwards.

Exfoliate for face and body – you get get the idea right? It’s a great but gentle exfoliant. It’s also good for acne. (Some people’s skin is sensitive to baking soda so you may want to ease into it if you’re unsure about how you’ll react)

Air Freshener- just put it in a cute jar and put some breathable cloth over the top. Tie with a pretty ribbon and there you go! (Or you can do what I really do and stick in a jar, put a coffee filter on the top and secure with a rubber band)

In a bath- Very soothing for muscles, bug bites, rashes, sunburns ect….

To Brush Teeth- great for removing stains and polishing teeth. (Some people think that it can wear on the enamel and a lot of people swear by it. I personally use it on occasion by itself but it is a main ingredient in the toothpaste I make for our family. Our oral health has improved since I started making our toothpaste.)

The trash can- I mainly just sprinkle it in the bottom but sometimes when the occasion hits I make discs. (I don’t really measure……anything so you may have to play with this recipe)

Put a few drops of essential oil (3-5?) in water and mix. Then slowly pour the water/oil into about 2 cups baking soda. Blend until you have a thick paste. Fill an ice cube tray with it and let dry a day or two. If you’re really antsy, you could probably pop it into the dehydrator or stick it outside or in your car.

Pepto Bismal like symptoms- 1-2 teaspoons baking soda in a glass of water (I don’t usually add essential oils but I bet there are several that would help aid the baking soda. I’ve gotta research that further)

Hair- Softens hair and removes buildup. Follow with apple cider vinegar rinse. More details here :http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=355623064513699&set=pb.284822361593770.-2207520000.1362096752&type=3&theater I also like doing this with tea tree oil. I have dreads and want to make sure my hair doesn’t hold on to or grow anything disturbing.

Carpet Deodorizer- sprinkle baking soda essential oil mixture on carpet, wait a few minutes, vacuum.

Laundry- removes smells, softens clothes, can remove crayon…sometimes, brightens whites. I usually use about half a cupish.

Dishes- Baking soda is a gentle abrasive that absorbs odors and oils well. If you can’t get to your dishes right away, sprinkling it on your dishes helps break down the food while you’re busy doing other things. The essential oils help with the cleaning as well.

That’s about all I can think of for now! (It’s also all my wee one will allow me to write <3)

Essential Oils to Use: (I mainly use tea tree and peppermint)
Info on which oils to use comes from: http://www.noordinaryhomestead.com/making-homemade-hand-sanitizer/

“Cedarwood, lavender, lemon, lemon grass, myrrh, neroli, patchouli, peppermint, rose, sandalwood, tea tree, thyme and ylang-ylang essential oils all have antiseptic properties.
Clove, niaouli and pine oils have both disinfectant and antiseptic properties.

“Tea tree oil is the most powerful of these essential oils and has antiviral, antifungal and antibacterial properties–making it the recommended essential oil to use in the following recipes. But it should not be used on infants or pregnant /nursing women. Adding more tea tree oil to any recipe will make the hand sanitizer more effective but the smell can be overwhelming. View the American Society for Microbiology’s study about TTO for further information about its effectiveness. Most organisms can be killed with a 0.50% concentration (E.coli, Staphylococcus and Streptococcus special and others) but to kill the penicillin-resistant bacteria Pseudomonas aeruginosa, a 3.0% concentration is neeed. All of these findings have been published in international journals. A few drops of essential oils like basil, rosemary, rose, lavender, lemon or geranium will lighten and balance the aroma.”

One thought on “The amazing power of baking soda and essential oils

  1. Thanks so very much for sharing! Trying to get rid of all the chemical products in my home as well. Our lil guy(2 months old now) was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis at a week old.the more natural the better. I will have to postpone on hand soap/sanitizer as I will be nursing him, but this is some great recipe/info.

I'd love to hear from you! Please don't hesitate to comment and share!

